Tags

, , , , , , , ,

What’s the first thing that comes to your mind when you hear lead, or leader, or leadership? Almost every time I hear these terms, words like control, rule, supremacy, title, command, power, come to mind. Surely when you look up the definition of leadership, these words will come up. However, having led and been led many times in all sorts of manners,  these words (especially seeing them in action), have not made me feel any better, nor have they made me feel good about myself or feel successful. Reflecting on the many leadership encounters I’ve had, there are a number of things I’ve come to learn and appreciate as true leadership. Surprisingly, have nothing to do with me feeling like I have to control others, or change others, or have power over others, etc, instead, they have got a lot more to do with me as an individual first, and then others second. And as I think about 2015, I want to share with you 5 of the things I’ve learnt and hope to nurture in my leadership journey.

5ThingsAboutLeadership

Question for you as you think about resolutions and plans for the new year is, what kind of a leader or individual do you envision yourself to be? What areas of your life will you be working on in order to improve yourself, even before you begin to think about how you are going to change the world? One of my favorite quotes is by Leo Tolstoy,

‘Everyone thinks of changing the world, but no one thinks of changing himself ‘

